lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

Welcome to Food, Fun and More

Welcome everyone! Take a seat. Get comfortable. May I get you a glass of wine or some coffee perhaps? I truly hope our time together here is fun and enjoyable. Please feel free to speak up with ideas, questions or just to say Hello.

This blog will discuss anything about FOOD; from cooking, to gardening, kitchen snafus to new recipes. You may discover, with me, local restaurants or wineries. Events that serve food or are about food are fodder for the blog. Which county fair has the best corn dogs, fries or elephant ears? Whose concession do you look for year after year? I will share recipes from time to time that I’ve tested and found delicious. Your comments are welcome as are ideas you’d like to discuss, blogs you’d like to see and any feedback you care to make.

A little on my qualifications: I write the Recipe Exchange column which currently runs in several newspapers in Michigan and Ohio. I also am the author of Farmhouse Cooking, a cookbook featuring the down-to-earth, family recipes found in my column.

I love food, like to cook and have been doing it for many years and I’m in the garden all summer long. I prefer privately owned restaurants to chains and little diners are my favorite.

I’m so glad you stopped by and hope to see you again soon.
Lynn

4 Comments

  1. Chris

    Great job and I will be following your blog.

  2. Stephanie

    Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Ruth Capsel

    I am trying to clarify an ingredient in one of your peach pie recipes. Southern peach pie lists rum cream as an ingredient. What is this?

    • Ruth,
      Rum is an ingredient in the Souther Peach Pie recipe, but there is no rum cream I don’t know if there was a publishing error in the paper but here is the recipe: Also, I’d like to add, this recipe calls for the egg yolk not to be cooked. I would suggest cooking the sugar, butter and egg yolk for a minute or so, remove from the heat and add the rum.

      SOUTHERN PEACH PIE

      1 1/2 c confectioners sugar 2 T butter
      6 large juicy peaches, 1 egg yolk
      peeled and sliced 1/2 pint heavy whipping
      2 T rum cream
      1 baked pie shell

      DIRECTIONS: Beat sugar, butter, egg yolk and rum together to make a smooth paste. Spread into cooled pie shell and refrigerate for three hours. Then fill with peach slices. Just before serving, whip cream and spread over fruit.

Leave a Reply

