lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

Potlucks Are As Good As It Gets

LSE-Pictorial-110613 My church, St Paul’s Episcopal in Jackson, Michigan, had their Harvest Dinner last Sunday. There was more food than we could eat. Someone suggested buying bigger plates for the church because there wasn’t enough room on the ones we had to try a taste of everything. The food at a church potluck dinner is as good as it gets. It was at one of these dinners that I had my first heavenly taste of Harvard beets and had the best piece of peach pie I ever ate. A potluck offers an opportunity to be adventurous and try something new. The cooks, both men and women, bring their specialties and often become locally famous for their dishes.
I purposefully sit at a table with people I don’t know or would like to know better. The atmosphere is relaxed and conversation comes easy over a shared meal. Each person that I meet is unique and interesting. Their stories are funny, heroic and amazing. Some of them humble me and I realize how blessed I am. My problems turn to dust when I learn of the obstacles people face or have overcome.
One of the women, who just turned 100, said she needs to stop bowling. She is tiny and I can’t imagine her throwing one of those heavy balls down the lane. I smiled and hoped I have to make a similar decision when I’m 100.
After everyone had cleaned their plates, had desert and the coffee cups were empty, the leftovers, including turkey, stuffing, rolls and deserts were sent to the shelter. Nothing was wasted.
Here is the recipe for my favorite holiday passing dish. It doesn’t have a name. But my son calls it:
Green Stuff
Mom’s Green Stuff
8 oz carton Cool Whip             Small carton small curd cottage cheese
3 oz package lime Jell-O         8 oz can crushed pineapple, well drained
¼ cup chopped pecans           ¼ cup chopped maraschino cherries

Place cottage cheese in a large mixing bowl. Sprinkle with Jell-0 and lightly mix. Fold in Cool Whip then mix so Jell-O is well blended in. Add pineapple, pecans and maraschino cherries. Put mixture in a nice serving dish and shape with a spatula. Sprinkle with a few pecans and diced maraschino cherries. This dish looks pretty and festive. It’s good too.

Leave a Reply

