lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

Crab Cakes – Does It Get Any Better?

I’m often asked if I make all of the recipes that are sent into my column, The Recipe Exchange. The answer is No. I don’t have a test kitchen and I couldn’t possibly eat all that food. I trust that the people who send in the recipes have made them and like them. But every now and then a recipe catches my eye and I give it a try. Such was the case with Marilyn’s from Brooklyn Easy Crab Cakes recipe. (see recipe below). Crab Cakes Ingredients Marilyn suggested using Chicken of the Sea canned crab to make her crab cakes. When buying the ingredients, I discovered there is quite a bit of difference in canned crab meat. That was after I’d shopped at Meijer and bought a can of Reese Lump Style crab meat on sale for more than $5. At that point I thought four crab cakes for over $10 was pretty expensive. I only bought one can and considered cutting the recipe in half. Then I stopped in to Walmart looking for a computer desk and decided to see what they were charging for canned crab meat. I didn’t find Chicken of the Sea but did find a can of Bumble Bee brand on the same shelf as the canned tuna and salmon, for less than $2 per can. That was more reasonable. Buying the less expensive canned crab made all the difference in cost. Plus I was able to get five crab cakes  instead of four when I made the recipe

. Crab Cakes mixture  Crab Cakes cooking The crab cakes were very good with the bread crumbs making the outside nice and crunchy. For my taste they were a little mild in flavor and I prefer to cook with olive oil instead of butter. The next time I make them, and I will make them again, I’ll increase the cayenne pepper a little and add a tablespoon of Dijon mustard to the mix. That will give the crab cakes a little bit of an edge. Crab cakes for dinner I recommend this recipe and have put it in my Keeper File. Thank you Marilyn from Brooklyn for sending it in to my column, The Recipe Exchange.

EASY CRAB CAKES

1/4 cup finely chopped red bell pepper          1/4 cup finely chopped green onions

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice or Real-Lemon lemon juice   1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt       1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Dash of Cayenne (red) pepper       2 – 6 oz cans Chicken of the Sea Crab

1 medium egg, beaten      1 cup seasoned breadcrumbs      3 tablespoons butter

DIRECTIONS: In a bowl, combine red bell pepper, green onions, mayonnaise, lemon juice, seasoned salt, garlic powder and cayenne pepper. Stir in crab, egg and 1/3 cup breadcrumbs. Mixture will be sticky. Divide and form mixture into 4 balls. Roll crab balls in remaining breadcrumbs. Flatten into cakes about 1/2 inch thick. In a skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Fry crab cakes 3 to 4 minutes per side or until golden brown. Discard remaining breadcrumbs. Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

