lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

Butternut Soup

Apples & Squash webA variety of Squash Soup recipes were recently featured in my column, The Recipe Exchange. I’ve never tasted squash soup – I’m not a fan of squash – but one recipe caught my eye and I decided to give it a try. There is only room for three recipes in the column and often some very good recipes have to be left out. This particular recipe wasn’t featured in The Recipe Exchange.
I started out trying to find some butternut squash. My usual grocery store had acorn squash, but no butternut. The farmers’ market, over at the lake, closed after Labor Day, so that source was out of the question. I called Adam’s Farm Market over by Liberty and they had a few left. They were going fast, “so I’d better come and get them today.”
I wasn’t sure where the farm market was located so I looked up the address in the phone book and Map-quested the location. It was an easy fifteen minute drive from my house. As it turned out, they were closing for the season the next day. I’d made it just in time.
I bought my two butternut squash and a Granny Smith apple. The rest of the ingredients, I had on hand. The recipe called for the squash to be cut in half, lengthwise, and roasted in the oven. Here is a little trick I learned to make cutting squash easier: Pierce the squash all over with a sharp knife and microwave for 1 to 2 minutes. This softens the squash just enough to make cutting easy without turning the squash to mush.
At first I thought the flavor of this soup was a little strong but the more I ate, the more I liked it. I was surprised that, without adding any sugar, the soup had a slightly sweet taste. I would definitely recommend this recipe. I’ve added it to my notebook of Really Yummy Recipes and will make it again.

Soup web

BUTTERNUT SOUP
2 butternut squash
1 Granny Smith apple
2 T butter, divided
½ of a yellow cooking onion
1 tablespoon dried sage
2 teaspoon salt, divided
3/8 teaspoon pepper, divided
2 ½ cups chicken broth
2 ½ cups water
1/3 cup heavy cream

DIRECTIONS: Cut squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds and stringy stuff. Place, cut side up, on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter. Baste squash halves with butter and season with ½ teaspoon of salt and 1/8 teaspoon of pepper. Roast for 50 minutes.

Roasted Squash web

 

Remove from oven and let cool. Peel and core the apple. Dice into ½ inch pieces. Dice the onion. Melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a Dutch oven or large saucepan. Add sage and mix well. Sauté onion and apple over medium heat until softened.

Apples & Onions web

Scoop cooled squash into Dutch oven and throw away the skins. Stir into apples and break up big chunks of squash.

Squash & Apples 02 web  Add chicken broth, water, 1 ½ teaspoons salt and ¼ teaspoon of pepper. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and blend in the cream. Puree small batches of the soup in a blender. Pour into a large bowl. Continue until all soup is pureed. Pour back into Dutch oven and heat through, without boiling.

The left-over soup heated up very well the next day. Just be sure no to bring it to a boil because of the cream.

4 Comments

  1. I had squash soup for the first time recently at Panera in Ann Arbor. I really liked it. I don’t know their recipe however.

  2. Barbara Tanner

    I completely cook my squash in the microwave.
    My soup recipe uses pumpkin and served with sour cream

  3. I’d love to print out this recipe but do not want to print the whole entry of many pages. Can you somehow allow for the printing of recipes like other sites? I do not have a computer/ ipad/iphone in my kitchen.
    Thanks,
    marilyntroska@aol.com

    • Marilyn,
      I haven’t figured out all of this tech stuff. But I will send the recipe via your email. The soup is delicious. I hope you enjoy it

Leave a Reply

