lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

Ratatouille

I woke up to the sound of a soft steady rain. A perfect day to play in the kitchen. I’d found an Emeril Lagasse recipe for Ratatouille that I wanted to make. It was chock full of vegetables – my favorite. I’d never cooked with eggplant before but any vegetable that pretty had to be delicious.  Fresh Veggies web
I love cooking with fresh produce and there is nothing like fresh vegetables straight from the garden.  I very seldom use canned or frozen vegetables. This also means my cooking is geared to what is in season. Late summer is a bountiful time and the variety of vegetables to choose from is never ending.
The origin of my ingredients for the ratatouille was a story of its own. The eggplant, yellow squash and green pepper came from the farmer’s market. The zucchini, basil and parsley were from my garden and the tomatoes and red bell peppers were dropped off by a friend who had grown them in his garden. He’d stopped by to pick up my lawnmower that had decided it didn’t want to start anymore. The vegetables were a nice surprise.
I did all of the slicing and cutting up early in the day when I’m most productive and at my best, except for the eggplant. It will brown like an apple when sliced and it was best to wait until cooking time. I knew if I waited to start cooking until late in the afternoon, I wouldn’t make the effort and would end up with something quick and easy but much less delicious for supper. Chopped Veggies web
The recipe called for the vegetables to be diced, but I like bigger pieces and “chunked” them instead. I also didn’t have any fresh thyme so I decreased the amount to ¼ teaspoon and used dried. I eye-balled the amount of parsley and basil. As you can see, I am not an exacting kind of cook.
I decided to serve the ratatouille over a bed of angel hair pasta and added a few cooked shrimp. After a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese, dinner was ready.
Here is the recipe I used:
Emeril Lagasse’s Ratatouille (with adaptations)
¼ cup olive oil
1 ½ cups diced onion
1 teaspoon minced garlic
2 cups diced eggplant with skin on. One eggplant made 2 cups for me
¼ teaspoon dried thyme or ½ teaspoon fresh
1 cup chunked green pepper
1 cup chunked red bell pepper
1 cup chunked zucchini squash, unpeeled
1 c chunked yellow squash, unpeeled
1 ½ cups chunked tomato
1 tablespoon thinly sliced fresh basil
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
¼ teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

DIRECTIONS: Pour olive oil into a 12 inch skillet. I used a 10 inch and it was really full by the time all of the vegetables were added. I think a wok would work well, too. When the oil is hot, sauté onions and garlic until onions are wilted and turning transparent, about 6 minutes. I love the smell of onions and garlic cooking. It tells of delicious things to come.  Cooked veggies webNext, add the eggplant and thyme, cook and stir for 5 minutes. Add green and red peppers, zucchini and yellow squash. Cook for 5 more minutes. Add tomatoes, basil, parsley, salt and pepper. Cook for an additional 5 minutes or until the vegetables look tender but not cooked to mush. Serve as is for a side dish or serve over pasta or rice, with a few cooked shrimp and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese for a main entree. Dinner web

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Yum, Yum, now I know what to do with the last eggplant in my garden.

Leave a Reply

