lseckerle

Food, Fun and More

The Lemons Are Ripe!

It is harvest time! The lemons are ripe and need picking.

There are two on my dwarf Ponderosa lemon tree this year, each the size of a softball. I’ve decided to try a new Lemon recipe this year. I’m going to use one of the lemons to make Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins.
I’m glad that part of my inheritance is my dad’s lemon tree. I remember the year we brought it back from Florida, in the back of our station wagon. (For a fun tale see my post, Dad’s Lemon Tree, post date 1/24/14) It not only makes me feel close to him every time I smell the sweet fragrant blooms or wait patiently as the small green fruits grow and ripen, I get delicious fresh home-grown lemons – in Michigan no less.
I’ve tried making lemon meringue pie one year which was yummy, but the bottom crust became soggy after a day or two. I’ve never figured out how to solve that problem. And I like to make gift-size loaves of lemon bread. I share them with my neighbors and they’re delighted to receive the tasty treat.
Whenever someone new moves in, I get to tell them the story of my dad and his lemon tree. I enjoy the telling and in that small way his legacy lives on.
Here is the recipe I made this year. I don’t have a sweet tooth, so I skipped the icing. The muffins are wonderful either way.

LEMON POPPY SEED MUFFINS
1 1/3 cups of flour                  ½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt                    4 tablespoons of butter
¾ cup of sugar                      2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla               1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons lemon zest    ¾ cup sour cream
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
Icing:
2 tablespoons butter, softened      2 ounces cream cheese, softened
3 to 4 cups powdered sugar          1 to 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

DIRECTIONS: In a bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and salt. In a larger bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, vanilla, lemon zest, lemon juice, sour cream and poppy seeds. Mix well. Add flour mixture and stir until just combined. Fill muffin cups 2/3rds full. Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes, or until lightly browned and a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool then remove from muffin pan. Icing – Cream together butter and cream cheese. Add powdered sugar and lemon juice. Mix well. Drizzle over cooled muffins. If icing is too thick add a little more lemon juice. 

Leave a Reply

